Industrial Keynote Speakers

Dr. Vijay Saraswat

Global Head of Artificial Intelligence R&D, Goldman Sachs.


Vijay is the Global Head of Artificial Intelligence R&D at Goldman Sachs. He leads a team of researchers and engineers building knowledge extraction, representation and reasoning, and quantitative finance frameworks for the firm. He joined the firm in 2017 and was named managing director in 2019. Over his 30+ year research career, Vijay has been a member of the Research Staff at the Xerox Palo Alto Research Center, AT&T Research, and the IBM TJ Watson Research Center. He has also taught at many universities world-wide, including Penn State and Columbia U.
Vijay has published more than 100 papers, collaborating with more than 100 researchers, across logic, constraints, concurrency, programming languages and AI. He received the 1989 ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award, a (20 year retrospective) Best Paper award for his work on Concurrent Constraint Programming, and the (10 year retrospective) 2005 Most Influential OOPSLA Paper Award for his (team’s) work on the X10 programming language.

Hamsa Balakrishnan

Associate Department Head, Aeronautics and Astronautics,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology.


I am the William E. Leonhard (1940) Professor and the Associate Department Head of Aeronautics and Astronautics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where I lead the Dynamics, Infrastructure Networks, and Mobility (DINaMo) Research Group. My current research interests are in the design, analysis, and implementation of control and optimization algorithms for large-scale cyber-physical infrastructures, with an emphasis on air transportation systems. These include airport congestion control algorithms, air traffic routing and airspace resource allocation methods, machine learning for weather forecasts and flight delay prediction, and methods to mitigate environmental impacts. My research spans theory and practice, including both algorithm development and real-world field tests.
I was a recipient of the American Automatic Control Council's Donald P. Eckman Award in 2014, the AIAA Lawrence Sperry Award in 2012, the inaugural CNA Award for Operational Analysis in 2012, the Kevin Corker Award for Best Paper of ATM-2011, and the NSF CAREER Award in 2008. I am an associate fellow of the AIAA.

Important Dates

Abstract Submission Dec 7, 2020
Paper Submission Deadline Dec 7, 2020
Paper Acceptance Notification Feb 8, 2021
Camera Ready Papers Due Mar 3, 2021

*All deadlines are 23:59 Pacific Standard Time (PST)